top of page
Alexis Noelle

Moab (Arches & Canyonlands National Parks) Itinerary


I took a road trip to Moab in October 2022 from SLC. This drive was about 4 hours, but very worth it. My road trip included the list below, along with Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend, Lake Powell, Zion National Park, and Bryce National Park.


One thing to note is that it was still pretty hot in October. There were a few hikes that we could not complete mid-day due to the intense heat and sun. I personally would not recommend going in the Summer due to how it felt mid-Fall. In addition, bring more water than you believe you would even need.


I highly recommend visiting the Visitor Center at each of these parks, which are usually located within the first couple of miles from the main entrance. Here you can get information on what to see in the parks, and buy some cool souvenirs.


I also recommend getting an annual National Parks pass as it is about $80 per car and most of the parks are $30 dollars per visit. This pass does not work on State Parks.


All of the miles shown below are round trip. I recommend having good shoes, whether that is sneakers with great traction or hiking boots - it is pretty easy to slip on many of these trails and it is better to be safe.


All experiences beginning with an *asterisks are the ones that I recommend the most.


At the time of my Moab visit, Arches National Park would stop letting cars in around 10:00 am and allowed entrance about 5 hours later. I would do some research and plan accordingly.


*Delicate Arch: 3 mi - this is the arch that you always see in photos

*Delicate Arch Viewpoint - definitely recommend seeing it from this view as well

Lower: Viewpoint

*Upper: .7 mi

*Sand Dune Arch Trail: .3 mi - this is SO cool, feels like you're in a desert



Similar to the Grand Canyon, but more "smaller" canyons instead of one giant canyon. This is a must see, as it is absolutely gorgeous. I got many of my recommendations from this website.


Aztec Butte: 1.2 mi

Other Locations:


Fisher Towers: 4.2 mi - absolutely gorgeous & one of my favorites. This is located about 45 minutes from Moab/Arches National Park but the drive along the Colorado River is absolutely stunning. I highly recommend completing this hike early in the morning as there is ZERO shade and it is extremely hot with the surrounding rocks. I ended up not completing this hike due to dehydration.


Corona Arch: 2.4 mi - another very popular hike located about 60 minutes from Arches National Park. I did not have time to do this hike but I would love to in the future.



Dead Horse State Park: A state park located near Canyonlands. It costs $20 per car to enter and I definitely recommend driving to the overlook as it is very beautiful. No hikes needed to see these stunning views.


Moonscape: A beautiful area that looks like another planet. It is a couple hours away from the Moab area and it is also apparently difficult to find so we did not go. But if you are up for it, I definitely think you should!


Long Dong Silver: Another really cool area in Utah, that was a little far from the Moab area. This is another place that some people have a hard time finding so I didn't even try.

Breakfast/Brunch:


Rainbowls: Smoothies, acai bowls, toasts, etc.


Moab Coffee Roasters: I really enjoyed their iced chai tea latte


Jailhouse Cafe: Moab's only brunch place!


Bonjour Bakery & Cafe: Didn't get to go here but the French inspired bakery items look delicious!


Wicked Brew Drive Thru: Didn't get to go here but I heard that it is very popular


Lunch/Dinner:


Quesadilla Mobilla: A quesadilla truck located right in town! Highly recommend getting the chipotle lime sour cream


Moab Food Truck Park: A food truck park located right in town. Rainbowls was one of the trucks here, but there are plenty of options for any meal of the day.


The Spoke on Center: American food that also has an ice cream shop. Great after a long day of hiking!


Antica Forma: Italian downtown


Pasta Jays: Did not end up trying this place but the line was out the door






8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page