top of page
Alexis Noelle

Iceland Itinerary

Updated: Jan 9, 2022







So you want to go to Iceland but don’t know where to start? Lucky for you, I got you covered.


From the moment Iceland crossed my mind, to the moment I had a full trip planned & booked - it only took about 3 hours. But since you now have this handy itinerary, it’ll be even quicker.

I visited Reykjavik, Iceland in June (one of their Summer months) and it was about 40/50 degrees fahrenheit. The wind was pretty wild so even though its Summer, I recommend packing for colder weather.


Below you’ll find a list of exactly how I planned my trip, including the links you’ll need to plan yours. At the very end you’ll find another list including a few fun things that I did not get to experience, but will definitely be checking out once I return.


(Every location is linked, and my top recommendations are *starred).


Why Iceland?

Iceland is easy to plan on your own because about 2/3’s of the entire country’s population live in the city of Reykjavik. This popular city also gets a whopping average of 2 million tourist PER YEAR.


This beautiful country should definitely be on your list.


Is it expensive?


I personally expected worse and have definitely been to more expensive places. If you look up the prices of food places beforehand, you should be golden. The only time I ever felt like I overpaid was when I was in a pinch for breakfast and ordered an $18 bagel with cream cheese, tomatoes, & lettuce. The Icelandic currency just looks like everything's expensive since the equivalent of $10 dollars is about 1,243 Krona.


All of my dinner meals were about $40-$50 a person - but that's including an appetizer, entree, and drink.


Bottom line - no, it's not as expensive as you're expecting.


Transportation:


I booked my flight through Google Flights - a website that allows you to find the best priced flights (of all airlines) in a calendar view. I ended up booking Iceland Air and flew into Keflavik Airport (KEF).

It’s super easy to get into the city center from the airport through Reykjavik Excursions. They also provide tickets from the city center back to the airport. After the 45 minute ride, the bus drops you off at the “BSI Bus Terminal” in the city - about a 10 minute walk from the city center.

The ticket is called “Flybus Airport Transfer” and it is under $30, and you will need to get two. After purchasing, you will receive an email with the digital ticket.

Easy as that.


Hopp Electric Scooters:

There are a few different brands of electric scooters in the city, but the one I used was HOPP. You download the app, scan the QR code, input your credit card info - and ride away! You are only supposed to have one person per scooter, but you can definitely fit two people if needed. It was a great way to get to different parts of the city quickly and it was honestly so fun - and cheap! The app shows you exactly where scooters are located, and you’ll easily see them throughout the city.



Stays:

I ended up finding an airbnb for $60 a night right in the heart of the city center on Laugavegur Street. Although it was a great location, the airbnb itself was not anything I’d recommend; therefore, I will not be linking it.


This Bali-themed hotel is absolutely stunning. A little further from the city center but still a very great location. Has a great breakfast option, and a full bar. You really can’t go wrong here. My boyfriend surprised me with this booking, and the room even had an ocean view.


Hostel World is my go-to for booking cheap stays on vacation. You do need to check the price of private rooms compared to Airbnb - sometimes it ends up being the same price or even more expensive. If you are willing to share, then you can score a great deal in an awesome location - and also meet so many other travelers.


Excursions

**You need to book excursions days or weeks in advance - they fill up quickly.**


This was my favorite thing I did in Iceland!


I booked my blue lagoon tickets on the Blue Lagoon website - make sure you ONLY purchase it here, otherwise you may be purchasing counterfeit tickets. I purchased the “Comfort: Blue Lagoon” ticket which includes: the entrance, a free mud mask, a free drink, & a towel for $53.


You can also purchase the “Premium: Blue Lagoon” which includes: everything in the Comfort ticket, a second mask of your choice, slippers, use of bathrobe, table reservation at Lava Restaurant, and 1 glass of sparkling wine if dining at the restaurant for $68.


No matter what you book, you will have the know the exact hour you will be arriving. The blue lagoon is only about 15 minutes from the airport - many people end up visiting while on their way to/from the airport (which I recommend doing).

When arriving at the Blue Lagoon, you will need to wait in a line to check in. After checking in, you will receive a locker/lock for your items, change into a bathing suit, and then go out to the lagoon.

While I did the Comfort package, I recommend doing the Premium package if you are staying for longer than 1.5 hours. Between the lines of checking in, changing, the face mask, the drink, and just overall enjoying the experience - 1.5 hours was perfect. If you plan on staying longer (the only reason I didn’t was because I needed to catch my flight home) then I would upgrade to the Premium since it is only a difference of $15.


I also had time at the end to stop in the Blue Lagoon Skincare Store - but even if you don’t, they ship to the US through their website and also sell products at the Keflavik Airport.


**Take all jewelry off, as the water in Iceland will ruin it.**



One of the most popular reasons people visit Iceland is to see all of the natural beauty throughout the country. I booked this trip through Tripadvisor - they pick you up near where you’re staying, includes both a bus and a tour guide, and take you to all 4 locations, for about $85. This trip includes:





If you’ve seen “Down to Earth with Zac Efron” on Netflix, then you’d know why I booked this Tripadvisor excursion. One of the 4 locations include a trip to the Fontana Geothermal Spa - seen on Down to Earth. This trip also picks you up near where you’re staying, includes both a bus and a tour guide. This tour includes:

All for less than $115.


**Take all jewelry off, as the water in Iceland will ruin it.**



This once in a life time experience allows you to literally climb the active Fagradalsfjall volcano. They pick you up near your stay, take you to and from the volcano (an hour from the city center) & provide you with tour guides that stay with you during the hike - all for around $80.


Iceland is known for its horses, so why not go horseback riding? We found a local place that was family owned and booked tickets that included transportation to and from, a guide, and light local refreshments. I honestly didn’t have high expectations for this experience; however, I absolutely loved it. You really get to see the countryside of the beautiful country and ride through the hills where volcanos used to erupt.


Iceland is known for it’s cute little puffins, which is why a puffin tour is perfect! Theres an island off the coast of Reykjavik where thousands of puffins can be seen. The tour is less than $50 and only 1 hour - includes the boat ride and a tour guide.


Things to do:


Bars:

*The Jungle Cocktail Bar: This is one of the coolest bars I have every been to. I went on a Saturday night, and people were pretty dressed up; however, I was not - which was totally acceptable! After waiting in line, you walk upstairs and see a “jungle” like room with a bar in the middle. Seating only - you can order a few very cool (and expensive) drinks and enjoy the ambiance. I got the Katy Berry and it was one of the best drinks I have ever had - I’m not joking. The drink was around $20 and totally worth it.


Lebowski Bar: This bar had such a cool theme & was right in the heart of the city. I got fries (which were very good) and the absolute best milkshake EVER - I even went back for it again. The “Graceland” shake which was peanut butter & chocolate but I swear it tasted exactly like Reese's Puffs. You could also “boogie your shake” and add alcohol. They also had super cool free postcards.


Kaffibarinn: I really liked this bar and everything it had to offer. It was very chill but also very entertaining. We grabbed drinks at the bar and then went to the back and grabbed a high top table for the evening.


Olstofa: This bar was a cute stop to get a few drinks. On a very colorful side street located off of the city's main street.


Restaurants/Food:


BrewDog Reykjavik: The chicken & waffles… get it. SO delicious. Really cool drinks as well.

*Krost: This restaurant was also AMAZING. I got the cod and not only was it great, but it was beautiful as well. This restaurant was also located in the Hlemmur Food Hall.

*Hlemmur Food Hall: An old bus terminal turned into the cities first food hall & let me tell you - it’s an awesome place for coffee, snacks, lunch, dinner, and dessert. An absolute must for all foodies. I had Krost, Te & Kaffi, Fuego’s frozen margaritas & Gaeta Gelato.


Te & Kaffi: Icelands version of Starbucks. I had their rainbow frap & it was delicious - I ended up getting it twice. Very fruity & colorful.

*Omnom Reykjavik: Okay, so I discovered this place because of the “Down to Earth with Zac Efron” show as well but once again, Zac did NOT disappoint. Iceland is famous for it’s ice cream, so this is a must. Omnom chocolate bars are sold all over the city but I highly recommend going to their flagship store about 20 minutes outside of the city center. They have unique chocolate bars and ice cream. I bought some chocolate (they also ship to the US from their site) and their honeycomb ice cream sundae. You had a choice between vanilla or black licorice ice cream & I chose vanilla. This was, without a doubt, the best vanilla ice cream I have ever had. It was topped with corn flakes cereal, fresh honey, homemade chocolate, and fresh caramel - I still dream about it.


Sandholt: A local told me that this is one of the best breakfast spots in town (also conveniently located in the city center), and she was right. I had an amazing chocolate latte and unique avocado toast. This hotspot also has cute pastries made in-house. You can sit down and eat, or take it to go - but be prepared to wait if it’s the weekend.


*Baejarins Beztu Pylsur Hot Dog Stand: Once again, Iceland is known for its hotdogs. Open until 1 am, it’s the perfect daytime or nighttime snack. I ended up getting the hotdog many times while there for the week. Had an option of 4 toppings and all were very good. Way better than American Hotdogs. About $4 each.


Shanghai: Chris & I made a quick stop to a small chinese restaurant near our Airbnb and it was surprisingly VERY good. We got fried rice & noodles - both big enough to share.


Other:


*Hallgrímskirkja: The church of Iceland. 245 feet tall & inspired by volcanos. You can’t miss it. I highly recommend purchasing tickets inside & taking the elevator to the top for around $7. Once at the top, you get that famous Reykjavik view of the colorful rooftop buildings with the water in the horizon. The road leading up to this famous church is painted like a rainbow - the perfect photo spot.


Kolaportid Flea Market: An industrial warehouse next to the city harbor and only open on weekends. Bring cash as many of the vendors do not take credit cards. I found some pretty cool things, including two handmade rings and an old postcard.

*Laugavegur Street: The main street in Reykjavik that includes many popular restaurants and shops. You’ll want to stay as close to this street as possible - I was lucky enough to find an airbnb on this street. Also includes beautiful/colorful street and wall art.


Reykjavik Red Cross Store: Great for thrift shopping or finding cheaper souvenirs. I found two stores on Laugavegur Street.


*Flying Tiger: The cutest little home goods/random knickknacks European store. It’s definitely comparable to a smaller “Christmas Tree Shop” that you would find in America.

Harpa Music Hall: “One of Reykjavik’s most striking landmarks” and I completely agree. We walked passed this building and it literally glistens, you cannot miss it.


Reykjavik Old Harbour: A beautiful beach-like area. You don’t need a tour or anything, just nice to walk around.

The Sun Voyager Sculpture: A beautiful sculpture & a great photo spot.


Next Time


Places I didn’t get to explore, but plan on once I return.


Iceland Sky Lagoon: I unfortunately didn’t have time to do this, but I heard it is a must. A 10 minute drive from the city, it’s only $48 for a Pure Pass & $80 for a Sky Pass.


Fagradalsfjall Volcano Helicopter Tour: Another tourist told us that this was absolutely amazing! Around $450 but I honestly bet it’s awesome. This excursion is an hour long & you get a 15-minute landing on Geldingadalur Volcano.

Miami Bar Reykjavik: I never made it to this bar but from the outside it looked so cool. After looking it up online, the inside looks awesome as well!

Valdis Ice Cream: Again, this ice cream place looked so cool from the outside so I’m sad I didn’t get to it.


If you are interested in day trips from Tripadvisor (other than the ones I listed previously) , here is a link to other Iceland specific excursions.


:) :) :) :)


After booking a round trip flight, my airbnb, and all ground transportation for 6 nights & 7 days - I paid less than $700. Now, that is not including all of the excursions - those added roughly another $500 (but I saw 9 national parks, went horseback riding, climbed an active volcano, & toured a puffin filled island!). I'd say it was well worth it.


Remember - you can always make more money, but you can't always make more memories.

Book that flight & have a great trip.



If you have any other questions about your trip to Iceland, just message me - I'd be more than happy to help.





208 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page