top of page
Alexis Noelle

Budapest, Hungary Itinerary

Updated: Dec 27, 2022

I visited Budapest in December 2017 and definitely think that the holidays is the best time to visit. Not only do you get the Christmas Markets and holiday decorations around the city, but you can still enjoy the baths as they are similar to hot tubs.


Definitely an underrated city and pretty high on my list!


All recommendations beginning with an *asterisks are the ones that I recommend the most.


Accommodation:


Bazar Hostel: I really enjoyed staying here as it was centrally located, safe, and cozy. I find all of my hostels on Hostel World. Definitely do your research before booking, but most hostels are amazing prices and great experiences.


Food:



Chimney Cake Desserts: The famous dessert in Hungary and you can get this pretty much anywhere. So delicious and an absolute must when you visit. They are described as "made from a sweet yeast dough that is rolled into a long rope and baked around a cylinder." You can get various toppings! I have attached an article that shows photos.


Vintage Garden: I have not been to this but I have heard very good things about their breakfast/lunch. Very Instagrammable!





Bars:


Szimpla Kert: Known as the "Ruin Bars," this place is a really cool spot for nightlife. I'm pretty sure theres food here too but all of the rooms make this place unique.


Activities:


Walking Tour: I always recommend to sign up for a free walking tour whenever you visit a new city - there are plenty of tours to choose from! I have seen ranges from 20 to 120 minutes, so you can choose what best fits your schedule. You truly see so much of the city and learn things you wouldn't otherwise know about the area.


*Szechenyi Thermal Baths: THE most famous baths in Budapest... you know, the ones you literally see photos of online. I definitely recommend booking advance as it fills up quickly. The bath itself is very warm, but depending on the time of year you may be cold when you get out!



Buda Castle: The most famous castle in Budapest on the water. It lights up at night and is STUNNING. I recommend doing a boat ride at sunset so you can see it at night - there are dinner boat rides to choose from. You will also see the castle while exploring the city.


Fisher Bastion Budapest: This is one of the famous castles. Again, you can just see this from exploring but definitely recommend checking it out.


Gellert Thermal Baths: Yes.. another famous bath. Budapest is FULL of them. Explore all of them because... why not?!


Christmas Markets: If you are visiting during the holidays.. you're going at the PERFECT time (in my opinion) because of the Christmas Markets. Downtown is STUNNING and has a bunch of venders outside. Enjoy mulled wine, yummy food, and great souvenirs.




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáře


bottom of page